My writing technique

As I think I’ve mentioned before, I’m on an ongoing quest to improve my writing speed; to that end I have created a new system for writing articles, and I’d like to share it with you.

My system works in three very simple steps.

Step one is content creation. The important thing in this step is to just keep writing; it’s quantity over quality at this point. Don’t worry about spelling and don’t worry about pronunciation; you can come back and correct anything you like later.

Step two is where you refine your writing a little bit; all you have to do is go back and correct any spelling mistakes you might’ve made while typing in step one. At this point you don’t have to worry about the clarity of your writing; it doesn’t matter if the article is nonsense, as long as it’s nonsense made out of real words.

Finally we come step three; the final polishing step. You just need to go back and get rid of any superfluous writing you put it while you were working on step one. If you stumbled a few times and went off at random tangents; then this is where you fix them.

And that’s really all there is to it. I know the system isn’t perfect; in particular I have a lot of trouble just writing without slowing down and correcting things; my internal editor just keeps getting in the way, but I have high hopes for the system and I hope to use it a lot in the future.

Thanks for stopping by and listening to me ramble.

Leave a Reply

